Blogging from A Bus

Every workday, I spend nearly four hours commuting to and from work. That’s a lot of wasted time; time I should be spending on my novel and burgeoning career as a fiction writer.

What do I usually do? Sleep, look out the window, or strike up a conversation with my fellow passengers.

Except for the sleep thing, I think I can turn these negatives into writing enhancement with only a little bit of effort. For example, there is a wealth of scenery that I watch go by ( when the window isn’t fogged up) that could readily lend itself to my storyline. On my right is a smallish house with boarded-up windows and overgrown lawn. A short iron gate stands behind the narrow walkway from the drive to the front porch and I can’t help but notice the tiny shape of a dog in the top of the gate. Who lived there? Where did they go? Did they take their dog with them?

an abandoned house on my route

an abandoned house on my route

As I thought about this, a scene I’ve been working on jumped out and started waving it’s hands wildly about. What if the people passed away in their sleep after the pulse, leaving the dogs to fend for themselves. When my character finds the house seeking shelter from a storm, he can now deal with a pack of feral yorkies.

Good stuff.

Thanks, city bus. I couldn’t have done it without you!

Leave a comment

Filed under Writer

Leave a Reply

